Today’s trip took us to Oxford University. Technically it is several different colleges in Oxford but it is known to most as Oxford University. We were there during the students’ exams. They had a very formal uniform to wear for the exams. Unfortunately I did not get a picture of one of the students so I will do my best to just describe it. It was a black and white uniform that consisted of either a black skirt or pants and a white button down. They also wore what I can only describe as a cloak that would have been worn in the Harry Potter movies. The final piece of the uniform was a carnation. The color of the carnation depended on where they were at in their exams. Oxford is a very historic and beautiful town. Like Stamford, it isn’t very industrialized because the train tracks never were built near the town.

IMG_3502 IMG_3503 IMG_3504 IMG_3505 IMG_3507 IMG_3508 IMG_3511 IMG_3514 IMG_3531 IMG_3532 IMG_3534 IMG_3542

 

After our official tour ended, all of us split in to groups to try to find the perfect Oxford University shirt. I’m proud to say I found one. Once the group I was in found our shirts, we went to find The Eagle and The Child pub, which is where C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkein would hang out. As a fan of both authors, this was an incredible experience for me.

IMAG0259 IMAG0260

When we got back to Harlaxton, the refractory, which is where we would eat, was already closed. Since we were all hungry, as a class we ordered pizza and sat around and had class discussion. This is our last night in Harlaxton so we spent some time doing a last walk around of the manor and grounds. It’s bittersweet, but I’m looking forward to seeing more of England. Tomorrow we head to York.

-Alyssa

