Today we left Whitby fairly early to begin out journey to London. The train ride seemed to take forever. Once we got off the train at King’s Cross Station, we made our way through the busy streets of London to our hotel while dragging our suitcases behind us. After getting settled into our hotel rooms, we met up as a class at a park just outside of our hotel to go over what we would being doing the rest of the day. We were split into groups to go explore different parts of London. The group I was in was assigned to the Covent Garden area. Make our way through London with just a map that none of us could read very well was kind of confusing. Most streets weren’t marked so we had to go off of landmarks. Thankfully, it didn’t rain. I’m not sure what I was expecting from Covent Garden. It was rather touristy, although much of London seems to be that way. We decided to look for a place to eat since none of us had eaten lunch. Most of the restaurants were of various cultures. i don’t think we saw one English style restaurant. We found a sandwich shop to eat at where I got an Italian style sandwich. After eating, we continued walked around our area. We saw several theatres and a shopping area which had well known stores such as Diesel and Urban Outfitters. We made our way back to the park easier than finding Covent Garden. Once the class gathered back together, we all shared what we saw in each of our areas. After our class meeting, Whitney, Lauren, Nicole, Caitlyn, and I relaxed in my room for a little trying to plan out everything we wanted to see. There is a lot to see and do while in London, and I only hope that there is enough time to see it all. After a little bit of resting our feet, we walked back to King’s Cross Station to do something that I’ve wanted to do ever since I was a little girl– Run through the wall between platforms 9 and 10 and end up on platform 9 3/4. That dream came true. Among all the shops at the train station, was half of a trolley on the wall with a sign above it reading Platform 9 and 3/4. For anyone who is still wondering what I’m talking about, it all leads back to the wonderful Harry Potter series written by J.K. Rowling. They even had a shop where people could get Harry Potter shirts, postcards, wands, and other fun movie related items.

This was basically one of the most exciting things ever for me.

IMG_3834 (2)

After we got back from King’s Cross, we were all exhausted. Today was a long day of travel, but I’m sure tomorrow will be even more jammed back since there is so much we want to see and do! I can already tell that I won’t be take as many pictures here because I’m not comfortable with having my rather large camera out while walking around the city. Thankfully, my phone can take some pretty good pictures.

-Alyssa

