Today we took a six and a half mile hike to a small fishing village called Robin Hood’s Bay. The views were incredible. It was a tough hike of several hills and valleys but it was so worth it. After we reached Robin Hood’s Bay, we found somewhere to eat since we were all exhausted and very hungry. Then, after eating we asked a local where we could find some ice cream. Since everything closed around 6 we had to rush down a very steep road to find the ice cream shop. When we got there, the owner was closing up, but served us anyway. I got cookies and cream ice cream, and it tasted wonderful. We enjoyed our ice cream while walking back up the road which was conveniently on a hill and then waited for the bus to take us back to Whitby. Once we got back to Whitby, we changed out of our tennis shoes and went to the North Sea to put our feet in the water. The water was freezing!! Even the sand on the beach was cold! No matter how cold it was, it was still awesome.

IMG_3748 IMG_3749 IMG_3754 IMG_3756 IMG_3760 IMG_3765 IMG_3766 IMG_3768 IMG_3769 IMG_3772 IMG_3773 IMG_3775 IMG_3778 IMG_3781 IMG_3782 IMG_3785 IMG_3788 IMG_3791 IMG_3792 IMG_3793 IMG_3801 IMG_3805 IMG_3811 IMG_3813 IMG_3814 IMG_3817 IMG_3821 IMG_3823 IMG_3826

Today turned out to be a very significant day for me. Almost 2 years ago I had major surgery on my hip to reshape the ball and socket so that they would fit together properly. Usually, if I am walking or running for an extended period time, I still have some pain. However, today I had no pain at all. It was a miracle. Throughout the whole walk, I just felt like I was on top of the world. The walk also remind me of something very important. Life is full of highs and lows, just like the path we walked along today. Sometimes, when you’re at the bottom, it seems impossible to climb back up, but God is always there guiding the way. Today was incredible, inspiring, and everything I had hoped it would be. Tomorrow we make our way to London for the last leg of our trip.

-Alyssa